ACEPS focuses on technology development for energy systems, power electronics, and power systems. One of our missions is to develop technologies and operational philosophies to modernize the electricity network in order to allow increased penetration of renewable and alternative energy sources into the grid (wind, solar photovoltaic, fuel cells, etc.) ACEPS is currently researching various aspects of the Smart Grid Initiative required for two-way flow of electricity and information, which enables the instantaneous balance of supply and demand through real-time communication.

Welcome to the website of the Research Group on the Advanced Control of Energy and Power Systems, based in the Division of Engineering at the Colorado School of Mines. Please browse through our pages and see what we have been doing.

News & Events
  • 01/12/2017 Congratulations to Xuliang Hou for successfully defending his Master Thesis Defense.
  • 01/05/2017 Congratulations to Mohammad Babakmehr for successfully defending his PhD Thesis Defense.
  • 03/03/2015 Dr Mohagheghi was invited to give a talk at the 7x24 Exchange Rocky Mountain Chapter titled "Smart Grid: Characteristics, Opportunities and Challenges".
  • 03/02/2015 Farnaz Harirchi received the best overall presentation award and 1000$ prize in the Conference on Earth & Energy Research, 2015.
  • 01/13/2015 Dr Mohagheghi was invited to give a talk at the monthly meeting of the IEEE Communications Society Denver Chapter, titled "Smart Grid Communications: Requirements and Challenges" .
  • 04/21/2014 Prof. Simões, has been awarded the Green Energy and Technology Award and will conduct research at Aalborg University in Denmark as a Fulbright Fellow during Summer and Fall of 2014.
  • 04/04/2014 Dr. Salman Mohagheghi was promoted to the grade of IEEE Senior Member.
  • 03/24/2014 Congratulations to Bananeh Ansari, Ali Mortezai, Abdullah Bubshait and Farnaz Harirchi for successfully defending their PhD qualification exam.
  • 10/23/2013 Dr. Simões has been just awarded the IAS 2013 Service Award for his distinguished service and outstanding contributions for the IEEE.